Chatrishe's Blog

A fine WordPress.com site

Shepherd’s Sunday

Sundays are my days at home just spending time with my family.  Today I decided to bake a Shepherd’s Pie.  In Antigua, a Shepherd’s Pie is not usually a Sunday dish but I am a million miles away so I can make it whenever I want 🙂

For those of you who don’t know, a Shepherd’s Pie is an English dish first developed in the mid 19th century.  Antigua was a part of the British Colonies before they become independent over 50 years ago.  Some of the British pastimes, phrases and delicacies still live on.

Now back to my Pie…here is a before shot:-

Image

The traditional Shepherd’s Pie does not include Bacon on the top but I had to tweak it a bit :).

Here’s the after shot:-

Image

The Ingredients included, potatoes, ground beef and mixed vegetables.  The Bacon on the top added a a nice smokey taste to the pie.

This pie had my whole family wishing it could be Shepherd’s Sunday every day of the week!!!

4 Comments

  1. Sean Breslin

    I love Shepherd’s Pie!

    • So do I and it was pretty good if I do say so myself :d

  2. I’ve been to Antigua but never got to try your version of the pie… you might like mine:

    http://sybaritica.me/2012/06/21/comfort-food-cottage-pie/

    Love the Antigua recipe 🙂

    • I totally find your take on it very interesting…who would’ve thought to add apple sauce?! Looked very good!!!!

Leave a Reply

